• tubes
  • telescopebandeau
  • mains
  • essai

BIOSANTECH, created in April 2011 by Roger and Corinne Treger is an innovative company based in Sophia Antipolis in Valbonne Provence-Alpes Cote d’Azur.

BIOSANTECH aims to promote and develop an effective vaccine on all variants of the AIDS virus.

BIOSANTECH has an exclusive cooperation agreement with the CNRS and the University of Aix Marseille and owns the exclusive license for development and marketing CNRS patents TAT oyi. BIOSANTECH, has to date therapeutic vaccine the most advanced in the world to have been allowed to enter Phase II III necessary for commercialization. The results demonstrate the effectiveness of the vaccine in patients infected with AIDS are underway.

CAUTION PROJECT SCIENTIST
The draft BIOSANTECH received support from the International Institute for Development and Support Innovative Research (IIDSRSI) led by Michel-Paul Correa and its Scientific Committee chaired by Professor Chermann which consists of 13 researchers and recognized experts the International.
Dr. JEAN DE MAREUIL, immunologist and virologist is the scientific adviser for the project and is responsible Biosantech analyzing biological data from sera from vaccinated patients.
Hope for a therapeutic vaccine against AIDS

Hope for a therapeutic vaccine against AIDS

Vaccin

This is a cheaper solution than triple therapy that requires daily treatment as three injections of the vaccine would be sufficient to stabilize the condition of a patient regardless of his country of birth, and access to care. Also note that children can not be treated with the combination therapy, condemning those whose mothers did not receive HAART during the last months of her pregnancy.

HIV, a therapeutic vaccine testing

Biosantech Logo

In Marseille, the first doses of a therapeutic vaccine against HIV were injected into patients as part of a clinical trial that will continue until June 2015. It would take several years for such a vaccine could be marketed, but this treatment option now seems accessible.

Pedro Lima on 18.04.2013

On 8 April, the Clinical Investigation Center Hospital of the Conception in Marseille, two patients infected with HIV have received the first dose of a therapeutic vaccine as part of a clinical trial to validate its effectiveness. Injections will continue at the rate of three new patients a week for a total of 48 volunteers, divided into four groups: three groups will receive three injections of the vaccine at different doses (11, 33 and 99 micrograms of active ingredient) the fourth will receive a placebo. Test objective, authorized on January 24 by the National Security Agency of the drug (MSNA): check that, three months after the end of treatment, the virus has been controlled in the body and does not resurface again beautiful, in the form of viral rebound. To confirm this beneficial effect, patients should stop their antiretroviral therapy, or HAART, two months after the injections.

The target: the Tat protein

Les atouts de Tat Oyi

Portrait of Tat Oyi

The specificity of this clinical trial of anti-HIV therapeutic vaccine, the only one currently in phase 2 in France (three others are being worldwide): it targets a protein, called Tat (for transactivating), which protects access , in people with HIV, cells infected with HIV and prevents the immune system from attacking them. To counteract this negative effect of the Tat protein, the vaccine developed over the past fifteen years, contains a synthetic protein, called Tat Oyi, which is a variant of the target protein. The goal is to enable, through Tat Oyi, the immune system against Tat, and thus enable it to neutralize Tat with antibodies. Interest would then be able to reduce the use of HAART, whose side effects are numerous. Or, if successful, can waive it.

If successful this first phase, a second phase will, by 2014, to demonstrate the effectiveness of the vaccine on a group of patients statistically significant, 80 patients divided into two groups. The first would be vaccinated with the optimal dose of Tat Oyi, the second using placebo. For now, thirty patients only on 2000 volunteered were identified as meeting the stringent criteria of the protocol under the leadership of Dr. Isabelle Ravaux. HIV-positive patients who are particularly accepting an informed manner to interrupt their HAART for two months at the end of three vaccinations to effectively measure the effect of the latter.

The advantages of Tat Oyi

If researchers and doctors are very cautious, the vaccine, the manufacture has been entrusted to the company Biosantech has several strengths. Studies on macaques have shown its ability to control the infection, and also seem to indicate that it could also have a preventive effect. Another advantage throughout basic research phase, the variant Tat Oyi has shown an amazing ability to recognize all shapes, varied, Tat protein. Much hope that will be confirmed or not by testing that begins in Marseille. First deliverables in a journal at best at the end of 2014.

Point Clinical Trials EVA TAT

PROMOTER BIOSANTECH SA

Biosantech Logo

(October 15, 2013)

After getting the Clinic Trial Authorisation issued January 24, 2013 by the National Agency of Drug Safety, Biosantech SA was started Phase I clinical trial of its vaccine against AIDS from the Tat Oyi .The March 25, 2013, pre inclusion of the first patient took place, inclusion corresponding to the first injection took place on 10 April.

Three groups of patients were vaccinated with three different doses: 11 mcg, 33 mcg and 99 mcg of the active Tat Oyi. A fourth group (placebo) is vaccinated with the vaccine without the buffer active ingredient. Three vaccinations are performed one month apart (M0, M1 and M2) and are made of random double blind.

Biosantech SA obtained the passage of the clinical trial of its therapeutic vaccine in Phase II / a Sept. 2 with discontinuation of HAART in 1 patient for two months. The objective of Phase II / a is to determine what the most effective dose between 3 levels of vaccine.

Phase I is to date a total success because no side effects from vaccination were observed and that anti Tat immune response was observed in patients from the 2nd vaccination.

Knowing that observed after 3 weeks of triple therapy stop, there is a rebound viremia in 95% of patients. The aim is that at least 30% of patients
one of the three groups is able to maintain an undetectable viral load after 2 months of HAART stop. In order to begin Phase IIb, so you have at least four patients to one of three groups immunized with the active ingredient have been able to maintain an undetectable viral load for 2 months.

If there is an effective dose vaccination can be considered a success. This will be validated on a statically significant staff of 40 patients versus a placebo group. This is the objective of Phase II / b.

To know the results of the Phase II / a, we must do what is called « unblinding ». This unblinding in place when the last patient out of the study included in our protocol is one year (M12) after the first vaccination. One can expect a waiver of blind by the Supervisory Committee, the end of 2014.

Dr. Isabelle Ravaux (principal investigator), depending on availability of patients and capabilities of Clinical Investigation Center (CIC) did last inclusion mid November. Provision may be starting the pre-phase II b inclusions in July 2014. The last patient Phase IIb scheduled for late December 2014.

The laboratory used to analyze the secondary endpoints of clinical trials managed from November 2012 to May 2013 the synthesis of 5 variants of the Tat protein with biological activity. These Tat variants were aliquots and should be used with Tat Oyi antigen to test the antibody response to vaccination. Since the start of clinical trials, the laboratory has collected the CIC blood samples of patients in the trial EVA TAT, serum was extracted and sterilized according to a standardized procedure (SOP) developed in the laboratory before testing begins. . this SOP allowed serological studies in June 2013 on J-15 and M2 samples that confirmed some patients anti Tat-dependent response to vaccination, which has resulted in the passage authorization in phase II / has the clinical trial for the vaccine.

After being left with five candidate vaccines earlier this year, we are the only in the world to have had the authority to go into Phase II of our supervisory board thanks to the antibodies produced in response to vaccinations.

Corinne Muselier Treger.

President Corporate

• tubes
  • telescopebandeau
  • mains
  • essai

BIOSANTECH, créée en avril 2011 par Roger et Corinne TREGER est une entreprise innovante basée à Sophia Antipolis Valbonne en région Provence-Alpes Cote d’Azur.

BIOSANTECH a pour but de promouvoir et de développer un vaccin efficace sur tous les variants du virus du SIDA.

BIOSANTECH possède un accord exclusif de coopération avec le CNRS et l’université d’Aix Marseille et est propriétaire de la licence exclusive de valorisation et de commercialisation des brevets du CNRS concernant la TAT oyi. BIOSANTECH, possède à ce jour le vaccin thérapeutique le plus avancé au monde à avoir été autorisé à passer en phase II sur III nécessaire à sa commercialisation. Les résultats de la preuve de l’efficacité du vaccin sur des patients infectés par le SIDA sont en cours.

CAUTION SCIENTIFIQUE DU PROJET
Le projet de BIOSANTECH a reçu le soutien de l’Institut International pour le Développement et le Soutien en Recherche Innovante (IIDSRSI) dirigé par Michel-Paul Correa et de son comité scientifique présidé par le Pr CHERMANN qui est constitué de 13 chercheurs et experts reconnus à l’International.
Le Docteur JEAN DE MAREUIL, immunologue et virologue est le conseiller scientifique du projet pour Biosantech et a la charge d’analyser les données biologiques à partir des sérums prélevés sur les patients vaccinés.

Un espoir pour un vaccin thérapeutique contre le SIDA

Vaccin

C’est  une solution moins onéreuse que la trithérapie qui nécessite un traitement quotidien, car  trois injections du  vaccin  suffiraient pour stabiliser l’état d’un patient quelque soit son pays de naissance et son accès aux soins. Il faut noter aussi que les enfants ne peuvent être soignés avec la trithérapie, condamnant ceux dont la mère n’a pas reçu de trithérapie pendant les derniers mois de sa grossesse.

HIV, un vaccin thérapeutique à l’essai

Biosantech Logo

À Marseille, les premières doses d’un vaccin thérapeutique contre le VIH ont été injectées à des patients dans le cadre d’un essai clinique qui doit se poursuivre jusqu’en juin 2015. Il faudrait attendre plusieurs années pour qu’un tel vaccin puisse être commercialisé, mais cette solution thérapeutique paraît désormais accessible.

Par Pedro Lima, le 18/04/2013

Le 8 avril dernier, au centre d’investigation clinique de l’hôpital de la Conception à Marseille, deux patients infectés par le virus VIH ont reçu la première dose d’un vaccin thérapeutique, dans le cadre d’un essai clinique destiné à valider son efficacité. Les injections vont se poursuivre au rythme de trois nouveaux patients par semaine, pour atteindre un total de 48 volontaires, répartis en quatre groupes : trois groupes recevront trois injections du vaccin à des doses différentes (11, 33 et 99 microgrammes de principe actif), le quatrième recevra un placebo. Objectif de l’essai, autorisé le 24 janvier dernier par l’Agence nationale de sécurité du médicament (ANSM) : vérifier que, trois mois après la fin du traitement, le virus aura été contrôlé dans l’organisme et ne resurgira pas de plus belle, sous la forme d’un rebond viral. Pour valider cet effet bénéfique, les patients devront cesser leur traitement antirétroviral, ou trithérapie, pendant deux mois à l’issue des injections.

La cible : la protéine Tat

Les atouts de Tat Oyi

Portrait de Tat Oyi

La spécificité de cet essai clinique de vaccin thérapeutique anti-VIH, le seul en phase 2 actuellement en France (trois autres sont en cours à travers le monde) : il cible une protéine, appelée Tat (pour transactivating), qui protège l’accès, chez les personnes séropositives, des cellules infectées par le VIH et empêche ainsi leur système immunitaire de les attaquer. Pour contrecarrer cet effet néfaste de la protéine Tat, le vaccin mis au point depuis une quinzaine d’années, contient une protéine synthétique, dite Tat Oyi, qui correspond à un variant de la protéine ciblée. L’objectif est d’activer, grâce à Tat Oyi, le système immunitaire contre Tat, et de lui permettre ainsi de neutraliser Tat grâce à des anticorps. L’intérêt serait de pouvoir diminuer alors le recours aux trithérapies, dont les effets secondaires sont nombreux. Voire, en cas de succès, de pouvoir y renoncer.

En cas de succès de cette première étape, une deuxième phase visera, à l’horizon 2014, à démontrer l’efficacité du vaccin sur un groupe de patients statistiquement significatif, soit 80 patients répartis en deux groupes. Le premier serait alors vacciné avec la dose optimale de Tat Oyi, le second servant de placebo. Pour l’instant, trente patients seulement sur les 2000 qui se sont portés volontaires ont été retenus, car répondant aux critères drastiques du protocole placé sous la conduite du docteur Isabelle Ravaux. Des patients séropositifs qui doivent en particulier accepter de manière éclairée d’interrompre pendant deux mois leur trithérapie à l’issue des trois vaccinations, pour mesurer efficacement l’effet de cette dernière.

Les atouts de Tat Oyi

Si les chercheurs et les médecins restent très prudents, le vaccin, dont la fabrication a été confiée à l’entreprise Biosantech, présente plusieurs atouts. Les études menées sur le macaque ont ainsi montré sa capacité à contrôler l’infection, et semblent par ailleurs indiquer qu’il pourrait également avoir un effet préventif. Autre atout : pendant toute la phase de recherche fondamentale, le variant Tat Oyi a montré une étonnante capacité à reconnaître toutes les formes, très variées, de la protéine Tat. Autant d’espoirs qui seront confirmés, ou pas, par l’essai qui débute à Marseille. Premiers résultats attendus, dans une revue spécialisée, au mieux à la fin de l’année 2014.

Point sur les essais cliniques EVA TAT

PROMOTEUR BIOSANTECH SA

Biosantech Logo

(15 octobre 2013)

Après avoir obtenu l’Autorisation d’Essai Clinique délivrée le 24 janvier 2013 par l’Agence Nationale de Sécurité du Médicament, Biosantech SA a pu démarré la phase I de l’essai clinique de son vaccin contre le SIDA à partir de la Tat Oyi .Le 25 Mars 2013, la pré inclusion du premier patient a eu lieu, l’inclusion correspondant à la première injection ayant eu lieu le 10 avril.

Trois groupes de patients ont été vaccinés avec 3 doses différentes :11 µg, 33 µg et 99 µg du principe actif Tat Oyi . Un quatrième groupe (placébo) est vacciné avec le tampon du vaccin sans principe actif . Trois vaccinations sont effectuées à un mois d’intervalle (M0, M1 et M2) et sont faites de manière aléatoire en double aveugle.

Biosantech SA a obtenu le passage des essais cliniques de son vaccin thérapeutique en phase II /a le 2 septembre avec l’arrêt du traitement de la trithérapie chez le 1er patient pendant deux mois. L’objectif de la phase II/a est de déterminer quelle sera la dose la plus efficace entre des 3 concentrations de vaccin.

La phase I est à ce jour un succès total du fait qu’aucun effet indésirable après vaccination n’a été observé et qu’une réaction immunitaire anti Tat a été constatée chez des patients dès la 2ème vaccination.

Sachant qu’on observe après 3 semaines d’arrêt de trithérapie, on observe un rebond virémique chez 95 % des patients. L’objectif est qu’au moins 30% des patients
d’un des trois groupes soit capables de maintenir une virémie indétectable après 2 mois d’arrêt de trithérapie. Pour pouvoir commencer la phase IIb, il faut donc qu’au moins quatre patients d’un des trois groupes vaccinés avec le principe actif aient été capables de garder une virémie indétectable pendant 2 mois.

S’il existe une dose efficace, cette vaccination pourra être considérée comme un succès. Celui-ci sera validé sur un effectif statiquement significatif de 40 patients versus un groupe placebo. C’est l’objectif de la phase II/b.

Pour connaître le résultat de la phase II/a, il faut faire ce que l’on appelle la « levée de l’aveugle ». Cette levée de l’aveugle à lieu lorsque le dernier patient inclus sort de l’étude soit dans notre protocole un an (M12) après la première vaccination. On peut espérer une levée d’ aveugle par le comité de surveillance, fin d’année 2014 .

Le Dr Isabelle Ravaux (investigateur principal), en fonction des disponibilités des patients et des capacités du Centre d’Investigation Clinique (CIC) a fait la dernière inclusion mi- Novembre. On peut prévoir de commencer les pré- inclusions de la phase II b en juillet 2014. L’inclusion du dernier patient de la phase II b devrait avoir lieu fin décembre 2014.

Le laboratoire chargé d’analyser les critères secondaires des essais cliniques a réussi de novembre 2012 à Mai 2013 la synthèse de 5 variants de la protéine Tat avec leur activité biologique. Ces variants Tat ont été aliquotes et doivent servir avec Tat Oyi d’antigène pour tester la réponse sérologique à la vaccination. Depuis le début des essais cliniques, le laboratoire a recueilli au CIC des échantillons sanguins des patients de l’essai EVA TAT, le sérum a été extrait et stérilisé selon une procédure standardisée (SOP) mise au point au laboratoire avant le début des essais.. Cette SOP a permis des études sérologiques en juin 2013 sur des prélèvements J-15 et M2 qui ont confirmé chez certains patients une réponse anti Tat liée à la vaccination, ce qui a permis d’obtenir l’autorisation de passage en phase II/a de l essai clinique pour le vaccin.

Apres être parti avec 5 candidats vaccins en début d’ année , nous sommes le seul au monde à avoir eu l autorisation à passer en Phase II par notre comité de surveillance grâce aux anticorps produits suite aux vaccinations.

Corinne Muselier Treger.

Présidente Directrice Générale

Lutte contre le SIDA – Interview Pr Jean-Claude CHERMANN Institut I.I.S.D.R.S.I.®

Lutte contre le SIDA – Interview Michel Paul CORREA Institut I.I.S.D.R.S.I.®