Testing and protocol

Testing and protocol

Encouraging results on macaques

A publication shows that when tested on monkeys, 7 macaques were immunized with « Tat Oyi » and then infected with HIV a year after the start of immunization, the publication has shown that the result of vaccination with « Tat Oyi « resulted in a significant decline in viremia for 5 macaques 7, much higher than macaques vaccinated with tat toxoid Aventis Pasteur. The most striking result of this study was that the tanks cells were undetectable for 7 macaques vaccinated with the « Tat Oyi » and a macaque, viremia was very low because it remained negative. It was interesting to see that it had the highest rate of anti-Tat antibodies to 6 other monkeys. There was for this macaque at the same sero-conversion retro in the study cohort Gabonese patients. Studies published in the journal retrovirology R (Watkins et al, 2006). These results in animals were confirmed by Harvard University and a publication confirmed that it is indeed the antibodies against the « Tat » protein that enabled the vaccinated macaques to resist the virus.

January 2013: Start of clinical trials

Clinical trials allowed January 25, 2013 of 48 HIV-positive patients were held April 10, 2013 at the Hospital of Clinical Investigation Centre of the Conception in Marseille, according to the protocol whose clinical trial authorization number is 2012 -000,374 to 36. The investigating physician clinical trials phase I-II a is Dr. Isabelle Ravaux.

Protocol clinical trial Protocol clinical trial underway

Phase I (completed successfully)

The preclinical toxicity macaque was made from 4 injections at a dose of 100 microgram and the observation period of 18 months on it to specify that no side effects were observed in the long term (Watkins & Al.2006).

Clinical trials were allowed January 25, 2013 by the National Security Agency of Medicines (MSNA) 48 PATIENTS SEROPOSITIVE and took place Hospital Clinical Investigation Centre of Design in Marseille.

This test is successful, the vaccine of the Supervisory Committee has authorized the company to spend BIOSANTECH in phase II.

Phase II (Ongoing)

Phase II.a
It began Sept. 2, 2013 with the cessation of antiviral treatment for the first patient for 2 MONTHS. The objective of the II.a phase is to determine HOW MUCH IS THE MOST EFFECTIVE ON 48 PATIENTS VACCINATED

Phase II.b
The objective of this phase is to check on a larger number of patients (80), the absence of adverse effects, the production of anti-Tat antibodies and undetectable viremia after 2 months of HAART stop.

At this stage, the goal is to have Biosantech intermediate results in early Q2 2014 and to review the benefits to patients by a vaccine or antiviral treatment from Tat Oyi.

If 30% of patients have antibodies able to cross-recognition against the Tat variants, and 30% of patients (vaccine group) hold viremia below 40 copies / ml after two months of interruption of antiretroviral therapy, test the BIOSANTECH AIDS vaccine according to UN standards.

Phase III OR « STUDY PIVOT »

As part of the testing of the vaccine according to the UN AIDS standards, this phase corresponds to the comparative study of actual effectiveness. It compares treatment with either placebo or a treatment important reference. No standard treatment, it may be because of issues benefit / risk of the development of a vaccine, this phase is very shortened under pressure from the country whose population is heavily contaminated.

The hypothesis BIOSANTECH

Vaccination of HIV patients, a synthetic active ingredient derived from varying « Tat Oyi » of HIV patients would help the immune system to recognize variants of the protein « Tat » in the blood. Neutralization of the « extra cellular Tat » protein would permit restoration of cellular immunity and elimination of cells infected with HIV-1. The decrease in infected cells should result in the stabilization of viremia in patients without the need for combination therapy. The evidence of efficacy of this vaccine is able to maintain a viremia below 40 copies / ml without using antivirals for two months. This vaccination would be a direct benefit for HIV patients, allowing them to have a normal social life and avoid heavy side effects of combination therapy.

conclusion

The assumption is that vaccination with an active ingredient synthetically derived variant « Tat Oyi » of HIV-positive patients may help the immune system to recognize variants of the protein « Tat » in the blood. Neutralization of the « extracellular Tat » protein would restore cellular immunity and elimination of cells infected with HIV-1. For vaccinated patients, it could afford to maintain viremia 50 copies / ml without using antivirals. This vaccination would be a direct benefit for HIV patients.

Essais et protocole

Premiers résultats encourageants sur les macaques

Une publication montre que lors des essais sur les macaques, 7 macaques ont été immunisés avec « Tat Oyi » et ensuite infectés par le HIV un an après le début de l’immunisation, la publication a montré que le résultat de la vaccination avec la « Tat Oyi » a entraîné une baisse significative de la virémie pour 5 macaques sur 7, bien supérieure à celle des macaques vaccinés avec la tat toxoïde d’Aventis Pasteur. Le résultat le plus marquant de cette étude a été que les cellules réservoirs, n’étaient plus détectables pour les 7 macaques vaccinés avec la « Tat Oyi » et pour un des macaques, la virémie a été très faible car il est resté séronégatif. Il a été intéressant de constater que celui-ci a eu le plus fort taux d’anticorps anti-Tat par rapport aux 6 autres macaques. On a assisté pour ce macaque à la même séro-rétro conversion que dans l’étude sur la cohorte de patientes gabonaises. Etudes publiées dans la revue R retrovirology (watkins et al, 2006). Ces résultats sur l’animal ont été confirmés en par l’Université d’Harvard et une publication a confirmé que ce sont bien les anticorps contre la protéine « Tat » qui ont permis aux macaques vaccinés de résister au Virus.

Janvier 2013 : démarrage des essais cliniques

Les essais cliniques autorisés le 25 janvier 2013 sur 48 patients séropositifs ont eu lieu le 10 Avril 2013 au Centre d’Investigation Clinique de l’Hôpital de la Conception à Marseille, selon le protocole dont le numéro d’autorisation d’essais clinique est 2012-000374-36. Le médecin investigateur des essais cliniques phase I–II.a est le Docteur Isabelle Ravaux.

Protocole de l’essai clinique Protocole de l’essai clinique en cours

Phase I (réalisée avec succès)

La toxicité pré clinique sur le macaque a été faite à partir de 4 injections avec une dose de 100 microgramme et la période d’observation de 18 mois sur ce dernier permet d’indiquer qu’aucun effet secondaire n’a été observé sur le long terme (Watkins & Al.2006) .

Les essais cliniques ont été autorisés le 25 JANVIER 2013 par l’Agence Nationale  de Sécurité du Médicament (ANSM) sur 48 PATIENTS SEROPOSITIFS et ont eu lieu au Centre d’Investigation Clinique de l’Hôpital de la Conception à Marseille.

Cet essai étant un succès, le comité de surveillance du vaccin a donné l’autorisation à la société BIOSANTECH de passer en phase II.

Phase II (En cours)

Phase II.a
Celle-ci a commencé le 2 SEPTEMBRE 2013 avec l’arrêt du traitement antiviral pour le premier patient pendant 2 MOIS. L’objectif de la phase II.a est de déterminer QUELLE DOSE SERA LA PLUS EFFICACE SUR LES 48 PATIENTS VACCINES

Phase II.b
L’objectif de cette phase est de vérifier sur un plus grand nombre de patients (80), l’absence d’effets indésirables, la production d’anticorps anti-Tat et une virémie indétectable après 2 mois d’arrêt de trithérapie.

A ce stade, le but de Biosantech est de pouvoir disposer des résultats intermédiaires au début du 2nd trimestre 2014 et faire le point sur les avantages apportés aux patients par un vaccin ou un traitement antiviral à partir de Tat Oyi.

Si 30 % des patients ont des anticorps capables de faire une reconnaissance croisée contre les variants Tat et que 30 % des patients (groupe vaccin) maintiennent une virémie inférieure à 40 copies/ml après deux mois d’interruption du traitement antirétroviral, BIOSANTECH testera le vaccin selon les normes ONU SIDA.

Phase III OU « ETUDE PIVOT »

Dans le cadre du test du vaccin selon les normes ONU SIDA, cette phase correspond à l’étude comparative d’efficacité proprement dite. Elle compare le traitement soit à un placebo, soit à un traitement de référence importante. Sans traitement de référence, il se peut, en raison des enjeux bénéfices/risques de la mise au point d’un vaccin, que cette phase soit très raccourcie sous la pression des pays dont la population est fortement contaminée.

L’hypothèse BIOSANTECH

La vaccination de patients séropositifs, par un principe actif synthétique dérivé du variant « Tat Oyi » de patients séropositifs aiderait leur système immunitaire à reconnaître les variants de la protéine « Tat » présents dans le sang. La neutralisation de la protéine « Tat extra cellulaire » permettrait la restauration de l’immunité cellulaire et l’élimination des cellules infectées par le VIH-1. La diminution des cellules infectées devrait avoir pour conséquence la stabilisation de la virémie chez les patients sans avoir besoin de trithérapie. La preuve d’efficacité de notre vaccin est de pouvoir maintenir une virémie en dessous de 40 copies/ml sans l’aide d’antiviraux pendant deux mois. Cette vaccination représenterait un bénéfice direct pour les patients séropositifs, leur permettant d’avoir une vie sociale normale et d’éviter les effets secondaires très lourds de la trithérapie.

Conclusion

L’hypothèse est que la vaccination avec un principe actif d’origine synthétique dérivé du variant « Tat Oyi » de patients séropositifs pourrait aider leur système immunitaire à reconnaitre les variantes de la protéine « Tat » présents dans le sang. La neutralisation de la protéine « Tat  extracellulaire » permettrait de restaurer l’immunité cellulaire et l’élimination des cellules infectées par le VIH-1. Pour des patients vaccinés, elle pourrait permettre de maintenir une virémie de 50 copies/ml sans l’aide d’antiviraux. Cette vaccination représenterait un bénéfice direct pour les patients séropositifs.